Kyrie - feedback wanted
  • So I composed a Kyrie, which for me is massive, since I'm not that great at composing, and this is one of the first composing projects that I've actually finished and not given up on half way through.

I'd like to get better, so I'm hoping the musically knowledgeable people on this forum could give me some feedback to help me know where I need to improve. When you tell me what is wrong (or could be better), if you could get into some details about how and why, that would be great since I'm an amateur. I've mostly just been trying to figure things out from YouTube videos and observing the music of the greats.

The intended style was something like Palestrina.
  • Thank you for sharing! I could easily imagine this at a Mass.

I liked how the entrances of the voices were staggered as well as the imitation.

It is unusual for the final cadence to be on a first inversion chord. Have you considered having the bass on F# or A# on the penultimate pitch? Also consider that the final chord could be open like the other cadences, or even use a Picardy third - depends on what you want. Do you imagine this leading to a Gloria?
    Thanked by 1OMagnumMysterium
  • I like it. The only thing that jumped out to me was that your kyries enter in canonic form at the 3rd beat whereas your Christe isn’t until the 7th beat. I was expecting the second voice to begin like the others. Otherwise, it’s rather lovely.
  • Thank you both for your kind comments.

@SuscipeMeDomine