Confirmation Before or After the Sprinkling Rite at the Easter Vigil
  • JT_Fields
    After consulting both the RCIA, the Missal, and various guidelines from different Offices of Worship - I am just absolutely confused as to where the Celebration of Reception goes during the Vigil. The Missal seems to have some sort of procession from the font to the sanctuary, where reception takes place. Then, after that, you do the Renewal of Baptismal Promises and the Renunciation of Sin.

But, looking at the general practice of where I am currently (it is my first year) and thinking back on what's happened before at other places I have worked, many places have Baptism THEN Renewal of Baptismal Promises and Sprinkling Rite THEN Reception THEN to the Liturgy of the Eucharist. This seems to flow a little bit better in my mind, it seems to be a lot of processing to and fro with what the Missal says/implies.

Thoughts?
  • smvanroodesmvanroode
    I have no idea what you mean bij de celebration of reception, but at the Easter Vigil, confirmation is administered directly after baptism. After confirmation follows the renewal of baptismal promises and the sprinkling rite.
  • lmassery
    I get what you mean. It goes baptisms, renewal of baptismal promises by assembly, sprinkling of assembly, then celebration of reception for those who are already baptized, then confirmation, then universal prayer, then liturgy of the Eucharist.
  • smvanroodesmvanroode
    The Roman Missal, Easter Vigil, no. 53: "If adults have been baptized, the Bishop or, in his absence, the Priest who has conferred Baptism, should at once administer the Sacrament of Confirmation to them in the sanctuary, as is indicated in the Roman Pontifical or Roman Ritual."

See also the Ceremonial of Bishops, no. 366-367. All is nicely summarized in Peter Elliot, Ceremonies of the Liturgical Year, no. 294.